Digital Classics Books

Monica Berti

Digital Editions of Historical Fragmentary Texts

Digital Classics Books, Vol. 5

This book describes a new model for digital editions of historical fragmentary texts, i.e. texts that have been lost in their original form and survive only through citations and reuses in later works. This book describes the current state of digital libraries of fragmentary texts and presents two new related projects: the “Digital Fragmenta Historicorum Graecorum” project, which is the digital and expanded version of the Fragmenta Historicorum Graecorum (FHG), and the “Digital Athenaeus” project, which provides an inventory of authors and works cited in the Deipnosophists of Athenaeus of Naucratis with a data model for their identification and analysis.

Stylianos Chronopoulos, Felix K. Maier, Anna Novokhatko (Eds.)

Digitale Altertumswissenschaften:
Thesen und Debatten zu Methoden und Anwendungen

Digital Classics Books, Vol. 4

This volume introduces scholars who are not particularly acquainted with recently ongoing developments in Digital Classics to selected crucial problems and debates in the field. The selection enables the readers not only to get an all-around view of the discussed issue but also to get in contact with common main lines of discourses in Digital Classics and Digital Humanities in general. This volume offers discussions on fundamental questions and tendencies (new working methods, digital publishing, teaching and research with the usage of databases and information systems), and a specialized discussion on digital scholarly editions, which serves as an example illustrating general issues on producing and working with digitized and digital sources and material in Classics. Thus, the purpose of this volume is to be a collection of some crucial results that have been achieved, clear tendencies that dominate, envisioned possibilities, and even deadlocks, and become thus a provisory orientation point in the fast changing landscape of institutions, disciplines and methods in (Digital) Classics today.

Charlotte Schubert et al. (Eds.)

Platon Digital
Tradition und Rezeption

Digital Classics Books, Vol. 3

Like Homer, Plato is one of the ancient authors with the richest reception from Antiquity through the Middle Ages to modern times. Nevertheless, and precisely for this reason, this tradition at best has been partially explored so far. The authors approach this old goal of research in the humanities in new ways by applying methods from computer science to Plato and his reception. To this end, innovative methods of paraphrase identification have been developed in order to establish them as a method of research in classical and cultural studies.

Jens Wittig and Corina Willkommen

Digital Classics in der Praxis
Arbeiten mit eAQUA: Eine Einführung mit Beispielen

Digital Classics Books, Vol. 2

"Digital Classics in der Praxis:  Arbeiten mit eAQUA. Eine Einführung mit Beispielen“ introduces into the practical work of text mining with co-occurrence search and parallel search. The book is designed as a low-threshold introduction that does not require any previous knowledge. It can therefore easily be used as a textbook for text analysis in historical-philological coursers. In a general introductory section, the tools are explained on the basis of their functionalities offered in the portal eAQUA. The co-occurrence search shows semantic connections, the search for parallel passages lists similarities between a work and an entire reference corpus of Latin or Greek literature. Dependencies, influences, tradition and transfer paths of ancient knowledge can be reconstructed with the tools. This opens up new paths for the interpretation of ancient literature.
In the second part, terms from corpus analysis and the meaning and use of significance measures are explained. A detailed glossary explains the most common terms from the Digital Humanities today. 

Charlotte Schubert, Sven-Philipp Brandt (Eds.)

Der Protreptikos des Iamblich
Rekonstruktion, Refragmentarisierung und Kontextualisierung mit Textmining

Digital Classics Books, Vol. 1

This book combines several articles, which analyse the Protreptikos by Iamblichus with different text mining methods. With these methods the authors try to find new aspects for the discourse in classical studies about the relationship between the Protreptikos by Iamblichus, Aristotle’s Protreptikos and Plato’s writings.

Iamblichus’ Protreptikos is concerned with Pythagoras’ theory and for that purpose he discusses philosophical trends of the classical antiquity. Hence many citations of classical philosophers can be found in the text. For this reason the authors use the citation-analysis and the cooccurrence-analysis, text mining tools provided by the portal eAQUA, and give a new perspective on citation methods in Iamblichus’ Protreptikos.

Digital Classics Books

Stylianos Chronopoulos , Felix K. Maier , Anna Novokhatko (Hrsg.)

Digitale Altertumswissenschaften:
Thesen und Debatten zu Methoden und Anwendungen

Digital Classics Books, Band 4

Dieser Sammelband analysiert unterschiedliche Prozesse in den Digitalen Altertumswissenschaften für Wissenschaftler, die sich bisher noch nicht intensiv mit diesem Thema auseinandergesetzt haben. Dabei handelt es sich um eine selektive Bestandsaufnahme zu einzelnen zentralen Entwicklungen und Problemfeldern. Auf diese Weise erhält der Leser einen instruktiven Einblick in verschiedene Debatten, die ihn wiederum andere, hier weniger angesprochene Themen schneller verstehen und erfassen lassen. Neben Erörterungen grundsätzlicher Sachfragen und Tendenzen (neue Arbeitsmethoden, digitales Publizieren, Arbeiten mit Datenbanken und Informationssystemen) vereinigt der Band auch eine paradigmatische Diskussion zu den digitalen Editionen, um bestimmte Spezialfragen zu präsentieren und damit verbundene Debatten exemplarisch für die allgemeine Diskussion über Digitalisierung in den Altertumswissenschaften nachzuzeichnen. Gerade in einem oftmals schwer zu überblickenden fließenden Prozess, bei dem viele gleichzeitige Entwicklungen sich überschneiden, versteht sich der Band als Angebot, zwischenzeitliche Ergebnisse, Errungenschaften, Potentiale oder Sackgassen zu thematisieren und auf diese Weise Orientierung zu bieten.

Charlotte Schubert et al. (Hrsg.)

Platon Digital
Tradition und Rezeption

Digital Classics Books, Band 3

Platon ist nach Homer der antike Autor mit der reichhaltigsten Rezeption vom Altertum über das Mittelalter bis in die Neuzeit. Gleichwohl und gerade aus diesem Grund ist diese bisher allenfalls bruchstückhaft aufgearbeitet worden. Die Autoren versuchen, diesem alten Ziel geisteswissenschaftlicher Forschung auf neuen Wegen näherzukommen, indem sie eine informationswissenschaftliche Perspektive auf Platon und seine Rezeption anwenden. Dazu sind innovative Methoden der Paraphrasensuche entwickelt worden, um diese auch als Methode altertumswissenschaftlich und kulturwissenschaftlich interessierter Forschung zu etablieren.

Jens Wittig und Corina Willkommen

Digital Classics in der Praxis
Arbeiten mit eAQUA: Eine Einführung mit Beispielen

Digital Classics Books, Band 2

"Digital Classics in der Praxis:  Arbeiten mit eAQUA. Eine Einführung mit Beispielen“ führt in die praktische Arbeit mit den aus dem Textmining stammenden Suchmöglichkeiten der Kookkurrenzsuche und Parallelstellensuche ein. Das Buch ist als niedrigschwellige Einführung konzipiert, die keine Vorkenntnisse erfordert. Ein Einsatz als Lehrbuch zur Textanalyse in althistorisch-philologischen Übungen ist daher problemlos möglich. In einem allgemeinen Einführungsteil werden die Tools anhand ihrer im Portal eAQUA angebotenen Funktionalitäten erklärt. Die Kookkurrenzsuche zeigt semantische Zusammenhänge an, die Suche nach Parallelstellen listet Übereinstimmungen zwischen einem Werk und einem gesamten Referenzkorpus der lateinischen oder griechischen Literatur auf. Abhängigkeiten, Einflüsse und  Transferwege des antiken Wissens lassen sich mit den Tools rekonstruieren und bringen Schülern und Studierenden die antiken Texte auf neue Weise nahe.
Weiterhin werden Begriffe aus der Korpusanalyse sowie die Bedeutung und der Einsatz von  Signifikanzmaßen erklärt. Ein ausführliches Glossar erläutert die heute häufigsten Begriffe aus den Digital Humanities.

Michaela Rücker

Der Protreptikos des Iamblich
Rekonstruktion, Refragmentarisierung und Kontextualisierung mit Textmining

Charlotte Schubert , Sven-Philipp Brandt (Hrsg.)
Digital Classics Books, Band 1

Der vorliegende Sammelband vereint verschiedene Aufsätze, die mit den Methoden des Textmining Iamblichs Protreptikos analysieren und dadurch neue Erkenntnisse für den Forschungsdiskurs über dessen Zusammenhänge mit dem aristotelischen Protreptikos und mit den Werken Platons liefern.

Iamblichs Protreptikos befasst sich mit der Lehre des Pythagoras und setzt sich zu diesem Zweck mit den philosophischen Strömungen der klassischen Zeit auseinander. Entsprechend viele Zitate jener Philosophen sind in diesem Werk zu finden. Die hier verwendeten Textminingtools des Portals eAQUA sind die Zitatanalyse und die Kookkurrenzanalyse. Beide Tools geben einen vielversprechenden Einblick in die Zitationspraxis Iamblichs.