The Silence of Organizations
How to cite this title

Starystach, Sebastian and Höly, Kristina (Eds.): The Silence of Organizations: How Organizations Cover up Wrongdoings, Heidelberg: heiBOOKS, 2021. https://doi.org/10.11588/heibooks.592

More citation styles
Licenses

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License 4.0
(CC BY-NC-SA 4.0)

Creative Commons License CC BY-NC-SA 4.0

Identifiers
ISBN 978-3-948083-11-3 (PDF)
ISBN 978-3-948083-10-6 (Softcover)

Published 24.06.2021.

Statistics


Sebastian Starystach and Kristina Höly (Eds.)

The Silence of Organizations

How Organizations Cover up Wrongdoings

Be it child abuse in the Catholic Church, manipulations of transplant lists or the current Dieselgate cases. Scandals repeatedly shake our trust in organizations. Against the backdrop of the devastation that rule-breaking in and by organizations leaves in our society, it is necessary to address how wrongdoings and crimes are regularly swept under the organizational carpet. To this end, the present anthology brings together contributions of international researchers from various disciplines to explain how organizational wrongdoing can flourish in the shadow of organizational silence despite tightening regulations, and increased efforts of compliance and prosecution.

Dr. Sebastian Starystach is a senior research associate at the Institute for Medical Sociology and Rehabilitation Science at the Charité Berlin. His research focusses on the sociology of organization, work and professions.

Dr. Kristina Höly is a senior research associate at the Max Weber Institute for Sociology, Heidelberg University. Her research focusses on the sociology of work and organization with an emphasis on organizational deviance.

The Silence of Organizations
Empfohlene Zitierweise

Starystach, Sebastian und Höly, Kristina (Hrsg.): The Silence of Organizations: How Organizations Cover up Wrongdoings, Heidelberg: heiBOOKS, 2021. https://doi.org/10.11588/heibooks.592

Weitere Zitierweisen
Lizenz

Dieses Werk ist unter der
Creative Commons-Lizenz 4.0
(CC BY-SA 4.0)
veröffentlicht.
Creative Commons Lizenz BY-SA 4.0

Identifikatoren
ISBN 978-3-948083-11-3 (PDF)
ISBN 978-3-948083-10-6 (Softcover)

Veröffentlicht am 24.06.2021.

Statistik


Sebastian Starystach und Kristina Höly (Hrsg.)

The Silence of Organizations

How Organizations Cover up Wrongdoings

Kindesmissbrauch in der katholischen Kirche, Manipulationen von Transplantationslisten oder die aktuelle Dieselgate-Affäre: Immer wieder erschüttern Skandale unser Vertrauen in Organisationen. Vor dem Hintergrund der verheerenden Folgen, die Regelverstöße in und durch Organisationen in unserer Gesellschaft hinterlassen, ist es notwendig, sich damit auseinanderzusetzen, wie und warum Regelverletzungen und Verbrechen regelmäßig unter den organisationalen Teppich gekehrt werden. Zu diesem Zweck führt der vorliegende Sammelband Beiträge internationaler Forscher aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen zusammen, um zu erklären, wie organisationales Fehlverhalten trotz verschärfter Vorschriften, verstärkter Compliance-Bemühungen und Strafverfolgung im Schatten organisationalen Schweigens gedeihen kann.

Dr. Sebastian Starystach ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Medizinische Soziologie und Rehabilitationswissenschaft an der Charité Berlin. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich der Organisations-, Arbeits- und Professionssoziologie.

Dr. Kristina Höly ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Max-Weber-Institut für Soziologie, Universität Heidelberg. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich der Arbeits- und Organisationssoziologie mit einem Fokus auf organisationaler Devianz.