Dictionary of Minor Planet Names
How to cite this title

Schmadel, Lutz D. and Burkhardt, Gernot: Dictionary of Minor Planet Names: 7th, revised and extended edition, Heidelberg: heiBOOKS, 2022. https://doi.org/10.11588/heibooks.1052

More citation styles
Licenses

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License 4.0
(CC BY-NC-SA 4.0)

Creative Commons License CC BY-NC-SA 4.0

Identifiers
ISBN 978-3-948083-63-2 (PDF)
ISBN 978-3-948083-64-9 (Hardcover)

Published 04.08.2022.

Statistics


Lutz D. Schmadel and Gernot Burkhardt

Dictionary of Minor Planet Names

7th, revised and extended edition

The Dictionary of Minor Planet Names (DMPN) is the official reference for the field of the IAU, the internationally recognised authority for assigning designations to celestial bodies and any surface features on them. The discovery rate of minor planets has made necessary a new edition of this established compendium: this thoroughly revised seventh edition presents 22,977 minor planets named at the end of 2021 and provides authoritative information about the basis for all names of minor planets. It provides a most interesting historical insight into the work of those astronomers who over two centuries vested their affinities in a rich and colourful variety of ingenious names, from  more prosaic constructions to heavenly goddesses. This seventh edition serves as the primary reference, with supplementary booklets with newly named bodies to be issued every three years.

Dr. Lutz D. Schmadel (1942–2016), astronomer and computer of orbits and ephemerides of minor planets at Astronomisches Rechen-Institut, Heidelberg, has discovered more than 230 minor planets. He founded the DMPN and authored the first six editions on behalf of Commision 20 of the International Astronomical Union (IAU). As member of the IAU he was affiliated to several divisions and commisions including Division III Commission 20 (Positions & Motions of Minor Planets, Comets & Satellites), Commission 5 (Documentation & Astronomical Data), Commission 41 (History of Astronomy), as well as the Committee on Small Bodies Nomenclature (CSBN).

Gernot Burkhardt, né Klein, born 1951 in Heidelberg, school attendance in Mannheim to the general qualification for university entrance, studied astronomy in Heidelberg, worked until his retirement at Astronomisches Rechen-Institut in Heidelberg mainly in the Bibliography group and the project DMPN by Lutz D. Schmadel since its beginning in 1988. For the now published 10 editions about names of Minor Planets he steadily developed the database further and was responsible for the production of the books.

Contents
PDF
Frontmatter
Dedication
Foreword
Preface
Contents
Introduction
Catalogue of Minor Planet Names and Discovery Circumstances
Appendices
References
Index of Minor Planet Names

Dictionary of Minor Planet Names
Empfohlene Zitierweise

Schmadel, Lutz D. und Burkhardt, Gernot: Dictionary of Minor Planet Names: 7th, revised and extended edition, Heidelberg: heiBOOKS, 2022. https://doi.org/10.11588/heibooks.1052

Weitere Zitierweisen
Lizenz

Dieses Werk ist unter der Creative Commons-Lizenz 4.0
(CC BY-NC-SA 4.0)

Creative Commons Lizenz CC BY-NC-SA 4.0

Identifikatoren
ISBN 978-3-948083-63-2 (PDF)
ISBN 978-3-948083-64-9 (Hardcover)

Veröffentlicht am 04.08.2022.

Statistik


Lutz D. Schmadel und Gernot Burkhardt

Dictionary of Minor Planet Names

7th, revised and extended edition

Das Dictionary of Minor Planet Names (DMPN) ist das Referenzwerk der IAU, der international anerkannten Autorität für die Vergabe von Namen für Himmelskörper und allen Oberflächenmerkmalen darauf. Die Entdeckungsrate von Kleinen Planeten hat eine Neuausgabe dieses etablierten Kompendiums nötig gemacht: Die sorgfältig bearbeitete 7. Auflage präsentiert die am Jahresende 2021 benannten 22.977 Kleinen Planeten und bietet zuverlässige Informationen zu deren Begründungen. DMPN gibt einen höchst interessanten Einblick in die Arbeit jener Astronominnen und Astronomen, die über zwei Jahrhunderte sich hinweg hingebungsvoll der Schöpfung eines breiten und bunten Spektrums an geistreichen Namen widmeten, das von prosaischen Konstruktionen bis zu Namen himmlischer Göttinnen reicht.
Auf diese 7. Ausgabe werden sich die im dreijährigen Rhythmus erscheinenden Addenda beziehen.

Dr. Lutz D. Schmadel (1942–2016), Astronom und Berechner von Bahnen und Ephemeriden von Kleinplaneten am Astronomischen Rechen-Institut, Heidelberg, hat mehr als 230 Kleinplaneten entdeckt. Er ist Gründer des DMPN und Autor der ersten sechs Ausgaben, die im Auftrag der Kommission 20 der International Astronomical Union (IAU) erstellt wurden. Als Mitglied der IAU gehörte er mehreren Abteilungen und Kommissionen an, darunter der Abteilung III, Kommission 20 (Positions & Motions of Minor Planets, Comets & Satellites)), der Kommission 5 (Documentation & Astronomical Data), der Kommission 41 (History of Astronomy) sowie dem Committee on Small Bodies Nomenclature (CSBN).

Gernot Burkhardt, geb. Klein (Jahrgang 1951), geboren in Heidelberg, Schulbesuch bis Abitur in Mannheim, Studium der Astronomie in Heidelberg, arbeitete bis zu seiner Pensionierung am Astronomischen Rechen-Institut in Heidelberg hauptsächlich in der Arbeitsgruppe zur Bibliografie der Astronomie und im Projekt DMPN von Lutz D. Schmadel seit Beginn 1988. Für die bisher erschienenen 10 Ausgaben über Namen von Kleinen Planeten entwickelte er die Datenbank immer weiter und war für die Produktion der Ausgaben verantwortlich.

Inhaltsverzeichnis
PDF
Frontmatter
Dedication
Foreword
Preface
Contents
Introduction
Catalogue of Minor Planet Names and Discovery Circumstances
Appendices
References
Index of Minor Planet Names