Computing in Art and Architecture

The book series Computing in Art and Architecture is dedicated to the use and potential of digital research tools and to issues of a digitally oriented methodology and data culture in the object-related subjects of archaeology, architecture and art history.

As background serves the progressive development in the information and communication technologies in the sciences as well as the associated digital turn. It reveals previously unexpected opportunities in the humanities and at the same time confronts academic subjects with so far unknown technical and methodological challenges.

In particular, the object-oriented disciplines such as archaeology, architecture and art history recognize the great potential of a networked work environment, of the semantic modeling of research data, of an analysis and evaluation of contextualized data sets as well as of the novel simulation and visualization of research results. At the same time, many essential issues of a digitally oriented methodology and new data culture have to remain unanswered for the time being. The same applies to fundamental questions of the future scientific documentation and traceability of results, of licensing and copyright, of long-term archiving and of the availability of knowledge.

Against this background, the Working Group Digital Art History, was founded in 2012. It regards itself as an association that represents art historical topics, in particular in the field of German digital humanities. In 2014, the working group was expanded by the foundation of the Working Group Digital Reconstruction as part of the Association for Digital Humanities in the German-speaking Areas, registered association, which aims to provide a platform for the closer exchange and establishment of scientific tools and methodologies of digital 3-D reconstruction within the digital humanities.

With the book series, the results of these thematic fields will be gathered for publication. The volumes of the series deal with the use of digital techniques and procedures in the scientific examination of object-related themes in the humanities. The focus lies on the computer as tool, on its possibilities and limits as well as on a methodological application of computing to teaching, research and knowledge transfer.

Editors

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Piotr Kuroczyński (editor-in-chief), Institute of Architecture, Hochschule Mainz – University of Applied Sciences

Prof. Dr. Peter Bell, Institute of Art History, Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuremberg

Dr. Lisa Dieckmann, Institute of Art History at Cologne University

Prof. Dr. Stephan Hoppe, Institute of Art History, Ludwig-Maximilian-University Munich

Dr. Sander Münster, Media Center, Technical University Dresden

ISSN

ISSN 2626-9538 (Print)
ISSN 2626-9546 (online)

Computing in Art and Architecture

Die Buchreihe Computing in Art and Architecture widmet sich dem Einsatz und den Potenzialen digitaler Forschungswerkzeuge und den Fragestellungen an eine digital orientierte Methodik und Datenkultur in den objektbezogenen Fächern Archäologie, Architektur- und Kunstgeschichte.

Die fortschreitende Entwicklung der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien in den Wissenschaften und der damit einhergehende digitale Wandel eröffnet auch den Geisteswissenschaften bisher ungeahnte Möglichkeiten. Zugleich konfrontiert dieser Wandel die akademischen Fächer mit bisher unbekannten technischen und methodologischen Herausforderungen. Gerade die objektorientierten Fachdisziplinen wie die Archäologie, die Architektur- und die Kunstgeschichte erkennen durchaus das große Potenzial vernetzter Arbeitsumgebungen, semantischer Modellierung von Forschungsdaten, der Analyse und Auswertung kontextualisierter Datensätze und der neuartigen Simulation und Visualisierung ihrer Forschungsergebnisse. Gleichzeitig stellen sich viele essenzielle Fragen im Hinblick auf eine digital orientierte Methodik und neue Datenkultur wie auch auf in Bezug auf die zukünftige wissenschaftliche Dokumentation und Nachvollziehbarkeit der Ergebnisse, Lizenz- und Urheberrechte, Langzeitarchivierung und Verfügbarkeit des Wissens.

Vor diesem Hintergrund gründete sich 2012 der Arbeitskreis Digitale Kunstgeschichte, der sich als Interessenverband kunsthistorischer Themen vor allem im Bereich der deutschsprachigen Digital Humanities versteht. Der Arbeitskreis wurde 2014 durch die Gründung der Arbeitsgruppe Digitale Rekonstruktion beim Digital Humanities im deutschsprachigen Raum e.V. erweitert, die eine Plattform für einen engeren Austausch und für die Etablierung der wissenschaftlichen Werkzeuge und der Methodologie der digitalen 3D-Rekonstruktion innerhalb der Digital Humanities bieten will.

Mit der neuen Buchreihe sollen die Ergebnisse aus diesen Themenfeldern auch als Publikationen gebündelt werden. Die Bände der Reihe befassen sich mit dem Einsatz digitaler Techniken und Verfahren in der wissenschaftlichen Auseinandersetzung mit geisteswissenschaftlichen objektbezogenen Themen. Dabei liegt der Fokus zum einem auf dem Werkzeug Computer, seinen Möglichkeiten und Grenzen, zum anderen auf einer methodologischen Anwendung der Rechenmaschine in der Lehre, Forschung und im Wissenstransfer.

Herausgeber

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Piotr Kuroczyński (Chefredakteur), Architekturinstitut, Hochschule Mainz – University of Applied Sciences

Prof. Dr. Peter Bell, Institut für Kunstgeschichte, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

Dr. Lisa Dieckmann, Kunsthistorisches Institut der Universität zu Köln

Prof. Dr. Stephan Hoppe, Institut für Kunstgeschichte, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München

Dr. Sander Münster, Medienzentrum, Technische Universität Dresden

ISSN

ISSN 2626-9538 (Print)
ISSN 2626-9546 (online)