Germanisches Nationalmuseum

The Germanisches Nationalmuseum is the largest museum of cultural history in the German-speaking countries. Around 1.35 million objects, divided into 23 collection areas, show evidence and artefacts from 200,000 years of German cultural history. The Museum’s principle research aim is concerned with objects across genres, another focus lies on the investigation of the cultural context of the works.

As part of the Leibniz Association, Germanisches Nationalmuseum is committed to Open Access. Via arthistoricum.net – ART-Books research results presented during conferences are made available in full and free of charge.


Publications by Germanisches Nationalmuseum Nürnberg:

Published later this year:

Proceedings of the conference 'Private Passion – Public Challenge. Collecting Musical Instruments Then and Now', Dominik von Roth und Linda Escherich (Eds.), will be published online via arthistoricum.net (2017)

Whereas the enthusiasm of private individuals for collecting musical instruments remains undiminished, public museums are too often restricted in their desire to augment their collections by lack of storage space and money. Ideas which might resolve these issues for all concerned and support future research and museum work are few and far between.

When the Rück Collection was sold to the Germanisches Nationalmuseum at the beginning of the 1960s, it was the last sizeable collection of musical instruments within Germany to pass from private to public ownership. The worth and wealth of just this one collection is clearly demonstrated in a DFG project, which is systematically editing Rück’s acquisition correspondence for an online research platform. Comprising more than 17,000 documents on the acquisition, trade, and restoration of historical musical instruments, this platform will offer a knowledge base, which provides answers to questions on multidisciplinary issues concerning art history, cultural studies, as well as instrument making, which go far beyond the usual approaches on provenance research. In keeping with Rück’s example, private collecting of musical instruments then and now forms the central theme of the conference, with contributions on historical and contemporary collections (in Austria, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, and Switzerland). In addition such topics as the future of musicology and related themes, such as the suitable display and function of public collections are being addressed and complemented by the experiences of private collectors. Positions from the fields of literary studies, cultural management, transcultural music studies, and art history provide cross-disciplinary correctives and complete the conference proceedings.

Projektleitung:

Roth, Dominik von, (Email)
Escherich, Linda, (Email)

Ansprechpartner GNM-Verlag:

Kupper, Christiane, (Email)

Daniel Hess, Dagmar Hirschfelder (Hrsg.)
Renaissance · Barock · Aufklärung
Kunst und Kultur vom 16. bis zum 18. Jahrhundert
Die Schausammlungen des Germanischen Nationalmuseums, Band 3

This title accompanies the permanent exhibition at the Germanisches Nationalmuseum on art and cultural history of the German-speaking world during the 16th to 18th centuries. The exhibition has been on display since 2010. It features about 1,000 exhibits in 33 rooms and addresses central themes of the early modern period such as collecting and presenting, the reception of antiquity and nature studies, the correlation between art and religion and the changing image of humanity. The complementing publication includes papers that deal with these key themes in a detailed manner. It also comprises a scientific catalogue of all exhibits. Paintings and sculptures, including masterpieces by Albrecht Dürer, Peter Vischer, Lucas Cranach or Franz Xaver Messerschmidt, as well as stained glasses, graphic prints and illustrated books, art handicraft, textiles, jewellery, medals, furniture and musical instruments are being put into their artistic and historical contexts on the basis of the most recent research. In this attractively designed volume about two thirds of the 1,000 exhibits are being presented in high quality colour prints.

Further Open Access publications by the Germanisches Nationalmuseum on arthistoricum.net include essays (via ART-Dok) and the following e-journals:
KulturGut
MonatsAnzeiger
Anzeiger für Kunde der deutschen Vorzeit: Organ d. Germanischen Museums
Mitteilungen aus dem Germanischen Nationalmuseum


Contact
Germanisches Nationalmuseum Nürnberg
Verlag
Kornmarkt 1
D-90403 Nürnberg

Tel.: +49 911 1331165
(Mon–Fri, 11.00–16.00)
Internet: www.gnm.de

Germanisches Nationalmuseum

Das Germanische Nationalmuseum ist das größte kulturhistorische Museum des deutschen Sprachraums. Rund 1,35 Millionen Objekte sind auf 23 Sammlungsbereiche verteilt. Sie geben Zeugnis von 200.000 Jahren deutscher Kulturgeschichte. Das Museum zeichnet sich in besonderem Maße durch gattungsübergreifende Objektforschung aus. Ein weiteres Hauptaugenmerk des Museums liegt auf der Untersuchung der kulturellen Zusammenhänge, in denen die Werke stehen.

Als Teil der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft hat sich das Germanische Nationalmuseum zu Open Access verpflichtet. Über arthistoricum.net – ART-Books werden insbesondere im Rahmen von Tagungen erzielte Forschungsergebnisse der Wissenschaft vollumfänglich und kostenlos zur Verfügung gestellt.


Publikationen des Germanischen Nationalmuseums Nürnberg:

Erscheint Ende 2017:

Die Publikation der Tagung 'Private Passion – Public Challenge. Musikinstrumente Sammeln in Geschichte und Gegenwart', Dominik von Roth und Linda Escherich (Hrsg.), erfolgt online über arthistoricum.net (2017)

Während Musikinstrumente auch heute von Privatpersonen begeistert gesammelt werden, so wird die Sammelleidenschaft öffentlicher Museen zumeist von vollen Depots und knappen Kassen gebremst. Ideen, die diesen Querstand für alle Beteiligten befriedigend auflösen, um Forschung und Museumsarbeit für die Zukunft zu rüsten, sind bislang Mangelware.

Beim Verkauf der Sammlung Rück an das Germanische Nationalmuseum Anfang der 1960er Jahre ging in Deutschland letztmals eine Musikinstrumentensammlung dieser Größe aus Privatbesitz in die öffentliche Hand über. Wie wertvoll und reichhaltig allein dieser Sammlungsbestand ist, zeigt ein DFG-Projekt, in dem die Erwerbskorrespondenz Rücks für ein öffentliches Online-Portal systematisch aufbereitet wird. Mit einem Umfang von über 17.000 Dokumenten zu Ankauf, Handel und Restaurierung historischer Musikinstrumente wird die Grundlage für unzählige Fragestellungen aus unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen wie der Kunstgeschichte, der Kulturwissenschaft, aber auch dem Instrumentenbau geboten, die weit über herkömmliche Ansätze der Provenienzforschung hinausgehen. Dem Beispiel Rück entsprechend ist das private Sammeln von Musikinstrumenten in Geschichte und Gegenwart zentraler Angelpunkt der Konferenz. Beiträge zu historischen und zeitgenössischen Sammlungen (aus Deutschland, Finnland, Frankreich, Italien, Österreich und der Schweiz), sowie Fragen an die Musikwissenschaft bzw. deren Zukunft und damit verknüpfte Aufgaben attraktiver und angemessener musealer Präsentationen von Sammlungsbeständen werden durch Erfahrungsberichte privater Sammler ergänzt. Positionen aus den Bereichen Literaturwissenschaft, Kulturmanagement, Transcultural Music Studies und Kunstgeschichte bieten transdisziplinäre Korrektive und runden den Tagungsband ab.

Projektleitung:

Roth, Dominik von, (Email)
Escherich, Linda, (Email)

Ansprechpartner GNM-Verlag:

Kupper, Christiane, (Email)

Daniel Hess, Dagmar Hirschfelder (Hrsg.)
Renaissance · Barock · Aufklärung
Kunst und Kultur vom 16. bis zum 18. Jahrhundert
Die Schausammlungen des Germanischen Nationalmuseums, Band 3

Der Band begleitet die im Germanischen Nationalmuseum 2010 neu eröffnete Dauerausstellung zur Kunst und Kulturgeschichte des 16. bis 18. Jh. im deutschen Sprachraum. Die Schausammlung erschließt mit rund 1.000 Exponaten in 33 Räumen zentrale Themen der Frühen Neuzeit, wie Sammeln und Repräsentieren, Antikenrezeption und Naturstudium, die Wechselwirkung von Kunst und Religion oder das sich wandelnde Bild vom Menschen. Zu diesen Leitthemen bietet die Publikation vertiefende Beiträge und einen wissenschaftlichen Katalog aller ausgestellten Objekte. Auf der Basis aktueller Forschung werden Gemälde und Skulpturen, darunter Meisterwerke von Albrecht Dürer, Peter Vischer, Lucas Cranach oder Franz Xaver Messerschmidt, wie auch Glasgemälde, graphische Blätter und illustrierte Bücher, Kunsthandwerk, Textilien, Schmuck, Medaillen, Möbel und Musikinstrumente in ihrem künstlerischen und historischen Kontext verortet. Von den rund 1.000 Exponaten sind in dem attraktiv gestalteten Band rund zwei Drittel in herausragender Qualität farbig abgebildet.

Die weiteren Open-Access-Publikationen des Germanischen Nationalmuseums auf arthistoricum.net umfassen Aufsätze (über ART-Dok) sowie folgende E-Journals:
KulturGut
MonatsAnzeiger
Anzeiger für Kunde der deutschen Vorzeit: Organ d. Germanischen Museums
Mitteilungen aus dem Germanischen Nationalmuseum


Kontakt
Germanisches Nationalmuseum Nürnberg
Verlag
Kornmarkt 1
D-90403 Nürnberg

Tel.: +49 911 1331165
(Mo–Fr, 11.00–16.00 Uhr)
Internet: www.gnm.de