Digital Classics Books

Digital Classics Books is a series of Open Access monographs which is open for contributions such as documents written as part of an academic qualification, produced in the context of a Digital Humanities project. Also eligible are more comprehensive individual works, e.g. collected volumes containing several contributions based around a common subject or theme.

Digital Classics Books publishes works on Classical Studies and related areas that apply or develop methods from the Digital Humanities.E-books are freely available for download by users. Futher reaching possibilities of electronic publishing can be realised with this form of publication, as this series allows research data to be integrated directly into the book or placed within a data repository. This provides readers not only with limited results in appendices, but with access to exported and edited versions of the complete results of research in the form of tables in the data repository.

This series allows electronic and printed publications to complement each other, as all titles are also offered as print-on-demand. Published works therefore appear simultaneously in various versions: as free digital copies (PDF or HTML versions), or as a printed book (hardback or paperback), available at a reasonable price from bookshops or online suppliers. The intention is to offer authors an interesting place to publish in addition to our e-journal Digital Classics Online which combines the requirement of the traditionally book-oriented disciplines for printed books from a publisher, with publication in a no-cost Open Access forum that conforms to our expectations


Coming in 2018

Jens Wittig / Corina Willkommen
Digital Classics in der Praxis. Arbeiten mit eAQUA: Eine Einführung mit Beispielen
Digital Classics Books, Band 2
Coming end of 2018
Charlotte Schubert / Paul Molitor / Joerg Ritter / Joachim Scharloth / Kurt Sier (Eds.)
Platon digital. Tradition und Rezeption
Digital Classics Books, Band 3
Coming 2019

Editors
Dr. Roxana Kath
Dr. Michaela Rücker
Prof. Dr. Reinhold Scholl
Prof. Dr. Charlotte Schubert

Contact
Prof. Dr. Charlotte Schubert
Lehrstuhl für Alte Geschichte
Historisches Seminar
Universität Leipzig
Beethovenstr. 15
D-04107 Leipzig
E-Mail: schubert@rz.uni-leipzig.de
Internet: Homepage

ISSN
2566-7890 (Print)

Digital Classics Books

Die Reihe Digital Classics Books wird als Monographienreihe im Open Access erscheinen und soll sowohl für Qualifikationsschriften offenstehen, die im Kontext von Digital Humanities-Projekten entstehen sowie für einzelne umfangreichere Beiträge bzw. mehrere, inhaltlich zusammenhängende Aufsätze, die als Sammelband erscheinen können.

Digital Classics Books soll eine Reihe werden, die Arbeiten aus den Altertumswissenschaften und angrenzenden Gebieten in Verbindung mit der Anwendung oder Entwicklung von Methoden aus den Digital Humanities veröffentlicht. Die eBooks werden für die Nutzer frei zum Download bereitgestellt und die weitergehenden Möglichkeiten des ePublishing sollen mit dieser Publikationsform ebenfalls realisiert werden. Die Reihe wird daher sowohl die Integration von Forschungsdaten direkt im Buch als auch online in einem Datenrepositorium ermöglichen. So sollen Leser nicht nur exemplarische Ergebnisse im Anhang, sondern die exportierten und aufbereiteten Gesamtergebnisse in Form von Tabellen im Datenrepositorium zu ihrer Verfügung haben.

Elektronische und gedruckte Publikationen sollen sich in der Reihe ergänzen, da gleichzeitig Print on Demand angeboten wird: Die Publikation der Werke erfolgt daher parallel in mehreren Versionen - sowohl in kostenfreier, digitaler Form (als PDF- und HTML-Datei) wie auch als gedrucktes Buch (Hard- oder Softcover), das im Sortiments- und im Online-Buchhandel kostengünstig erhältlich sein wird. Wir möchten damit für Autorinnen und Autoren zusätzlich zu unserem eJournal Digital Classics Online einen weiteren interessanten Publikationsort anbieten, der auch den Bedürfnissen der traditionellen Buchwissenschaften nach Verlagspublikation als gedruckter Monographie nachkommt und für Autoren entsprechend unseren Vorstellungen von Open Access ohne Gebühren zur Verfügung gestellt wird.

Herausgeber
Dr. Roxana Kath
Dr. Michaela Rücker
Prof. Dr. Reinhold Scholl
Prof. Dr. Charlotte Schubert

Kontakt
Prof. Dr. Charlotte Schubert
Lehrstuhl für Alte Geschichte
Historisches Seminar
Universität Leipzig
Beethovenstr. 15
D-04107 Leipzig
E-Mail: schubert@rz.uni-leipzig.de
Internet: Homepage

ISSN
2566-7890 (Print)