Römisch-Germanisches Zentralmuseum – Leibniz-Forschungsinstitut für Archäologie (RGZM)

The Romano-Germanic Central Museum (RGZM) is an archaeological research institute funded by the German federal government and by the federal states. It is part of the Leibniz Association of German research institutions. The institute is divided into several departments which are dedicated to the Old World and its contact zones from the Paleolithic Period until the middle ages. In addition it maintains a permanent display collection and addresses the general public with a large number of publications and events focused on disseminating current research results.
Temporary research foci are formed inter-divisionally and cross-periodically, bringing together scholars from different departments to work on historico-cultural questions, concerning the following topics:

  • Becoming Human: the evolution of human behaviour
  • Studies on the dynamics of Neolithical Societies (nlDynamics)
  • Archaeological studies on exchange and adjustment processes in the zones of periphery
  • Forms of Romanisation in the border provinces of the Roman Empire on the Rhine and Danube
  • Studies of the structure and technique of ancient seafaring in the Mediterranean
  • Workshops and trade in the Byzantine Empire
  • The development of an industrial landscape – the ancient quarry and mining district between the Eifel and the Rhine
  • For the sake of salvation and happiness in life: Studies on Byzantine pilgrimage and its origins

For more than 30 years the RGZM have had their own publishing house, which is not only responsible for scientific editing but also for producing books in-house. This ensures great independence, and the museum as well as the authors benefit from the expertise of the publishing house, its great flexibility, and its network.

The publishing house of the RZGM publishes three research journals (Jahrbuch des Römisch-Germanischen Zentralmuseums Mainz ; Archäologisches Korrespondenzblatt; Restaurierung und Archäologie), which are available online in open access via Propylaeum, as well as several monographs with current research results from the RZGM. Additionally the publishing house prints results by external international researchers, provided that they are of interest to the scientific questions and goals of the RGZM. Furthermore, the exhibition catalogues, and popular science books, inform the greater public about current research (see publishing program).

In cooperation with Propylaeum-eBOOKS volumes of the following series have been published online in open access:

Contact details
RGZM | Römisch-Germanisches Zentralmuseum
Forschungsinstitut für Archäologie
Ernst-Ludwig-Platz 2
D-55116 Mainz

Tel.: +49 6131 9124 0
Fax: +49 6131 9124 199

Internet: Homepage

Publishcer
Leitung
Dr. Reinhard Köster
koester@rgzm.de

Editing
Dr. Claudia Nickel
nickel@rgzm.de

Römisch-Germanische Zentralmuseum - Leibniz-Forschungsinstitut für Archäologie (RGZM)

Das RGZM ist eine international tätige Forschungseinrichtung für Archäologie, das von Bund und Ländern getragen wird und zur Leibniz-Gemeinschaft deutscher Forschungseinrichtungen gehört. Gegliedert in mehrere Abteilungen, arbeitet das Institut im Bereich der Alten Welt sowie seiner Kontaktzonen von der Altsteinzeit bis ins Mittelalter. Daneben unterhält es eine ständige Schausammlung und wendet sich auch durch seine zahlreichen Publikationen und Veranstaltungen der anschaulichen Vermittlung neuester Forschungsergebnisse an eine breite Öffentlichkeit.
Abteilungs- und zeitübergreifend werden zeitlich befristete Forschungsschwerpunkte gebildet, bei denen Wissenschaftler der verschiedenen Abteilungen gemeinsam an kulturhistorischen Fragestellungen arbeiten. Es handelt sich dabei aktuell um folgende Themen:

  • Menschwerdung: Die Evolution menschlichen Verhaltens
  • Studien zur Dynamik neolithischer Gesellschaften (nlDynamics)
  • Archäologische Studien zu Austausch- und Anpassungsprozessen in Grenzzonen
  • Formen der Romanisierung in den Grenzprovinzen des Römischen Reiches an Rhein und Donau
  • Untersuchungen zu Struktur und Technik antiker Seefahrt im Mittelmeerraum
  • Werkstätten und Handel im Byzantinischen Reich
  • Entstehung einer Industrielandschaft: Das antike Steinbruch- und Bergwerksrevier zwischen Eifel und Rhein
  • Für Seelenheil und Lebensglück: Studien zum byzantinischen Pilgerwesen und seinen Wurzeln

Seit über 30 Jahren besitzt das RGZM einen hauseigenen Verlag. Neben der wissenschaftlichen Redaktion übernimmt der Verlag auch die Buchproduktion weitgehend in Eigenregie. Dies bietet eine große Unabhängigkeit und sowohl das Museum als auch die Autorinnen und Autoren profitieren von der Fachkompetenz des Verlages, von dessen hoher Flexibilität und enger Vernetzung.

Im Verlag des RGZM erscheinen drei wissenschaftliche Zeitschriften (Jahrbuch des RGZM; Archäologisches Korrespondenzblatt; Restaurierung und Archäologie), für die Propylaeum die Bereitstellung der Open Access-Version übernommen hat, sowie mehrere Monographienreihen. Hier werden Forschungsergebnisse veröffentlicht, die am RGZM erarbeitet wurden. Außerdem publiziert der Verlag auch Resultate externer, internationaler Forschung, sofern sie für die wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen und Arbeitsziele des RGZM von Interesse sind. Darüber hinaus informieren Ausstellungskataloge und populärwissenschaftliche Bücher ein breites Publikum über neue Forschungen (siehe Verlagsprogramm).

In einer Kooperation mit Proplyaeum-eBOOKS werden die Bände dieser Reihen online im Open Access verfügbar gemacht:

Kontakt
RGZM | Römisch-Germanisches Zentralmuseum
Forschungsinstitut für Archäologie
Ernst-Ludwig-Platz 2
D-55116 Mainz

Tel.: +49 6131 9124 0
Fax: +49 6131 9124 199

Verlag
Leitung
Dr. Reinhard Köster
koester@rgzm.de

Redaktion und Lektorat
Dr. Claudia Nickel
nickel@rgzm.de