How to cite this title

Wergin, Carsten and Erckenbrecht, Corinna: Der Ruf des Schneckenhorns: Hermann Klaatsch (1863 – 1916). Ein Heidelberger Wissenschaftler in Nordwestaustralien, Heidelberg: heiBOOKS, 2018. DOI: 10.11588/heibooks.320.441

More citation styles
Licenses

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License 4.0
(CC BY-SA 4.0)
.
Creative Commons License BY-SA 4.0

ISBN

978-3-946531-76-0 (PDF)

978-3-946531-77-7 (Softcover)

Published 08/09/2018.

Statistics


Carsten Wergin, Corinna Erckenbrecht

Der Ruf des Schneckenhorns

Hermann Klaatsch (1863 – 1916). Ein Heidelberger Wissenschaftler in Nordwestaustralien

This publication introduces original and so far unknown material of the Heidelberg scholar Hermann Klaatsch (1863-1916) about the cultural heritage of Indigenous groups in Northwest Australia. Between 1904 and 1907 Klaatsch conducted extensive ethnographic research and collecting activities in Australia. The analyses of his most productive time in Northwest Australia 1905/1906 presents new approaches concerning the history, influence and dissemination of the German academic tradition, its understanding of cultures and research ethics. Thus, this book makes a crucial contribution to provenance research, repatriation and cultural heritage in a globalized world.

Dr. Carsten Wergin is a sociocultural anthropologist and Research Group Leader in Transcultural Studies at Heidelberg University (German Excellence Initiative). His work is located at the intersections of culture, ecology and political economy, with regional foci in Australia, the Indian Ocean, as well as islands and coastal regions of the European Ultraperiphery. He is Vice-President of the German Australian Studies Association (GASt) and founding member of the Environmental Anthropology Working Group of the German Anthropological Association (GAA).

Dr. Corinna Erckenbrecht is a cultural anthropologist with an extensive work and research experience regarding collections from Indigenous Australia and Oceania in various museums in Germany and abroad. From 2004-2007 she conducted an in-depth research about Hermann Klaatsch at the Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum – Kulturen der Welt in Cologne, financed by the Fritz Thyssen Foundation. Recently she worked at Heidelberg University in the Junior Research Group “The Transcultural Heritage of Northwest Australia: Dynamics and Resistencies” for the research project “From the homo heidelbergensis to the dugong dance: Indigenous Cultural Heritage in Northwest Australia as reflected in the German Science Tradition”. 

Contents
PDF
Titelei
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Carsten Wergin, Corinna Erckenbrecht
Vorwort
Carsten Wergin
Orte radikaler Hoffnung
Zum Umgang mit dem Nachlass evolutionstheoretisch motivierter Forschungspraxis
Corinna Erckenbrecht
Hermann Klaatschs Australienreise 1904–1907 und seine Zeit in Nordwestaustralien
The Exhibition
Corinna Erckenbrecht, Carsten Wergin
Hermann Klaatsch and His Collection of Human Remains from (North)West Australia
Index

Empfohlene Zitierweise

Wergin, Carsten und Erckenbrecht, Corinna: Der Ruf des Schneckenhorns: Hermann Klaatsch (1863 – 1916). Ein Heidelberger Wissenschaftler in Nordwestaustralien, Heidelberg: heiBOOKS, 2018. DOI: 10.11588/heibooks.320.441

Weitere Zitierweisen
Lizenz

Dieses Werk ist unter der
Creative Commons-Lizenz 4.0
(CC BY-SA 4.0)
veröffentlicht.
Creative Commons Lizenz BY-SA 4.0

ISBN

978-3-946531-76-0 (PDF)

978-3-946531-77-7 (Softcover)

Veröffentlicht am 09.08.2018.

Statistik


Carsten Wergin, Corinna Erckenbrecht

Der Ruf des Schneckenhorns

Hermann Klaatsch (1863 – 1916). Ein Heidelberger Wissenschaftler in Nordwestaustralien

Diese Publikation präsentiert bisher nicht analysiertes Material des Heidelberger Wissenschaftlers Hermann Klaatsch (1863-1916) über geistiges und materielles Erbe indigener Gruppen in Nordwestaustralien. Von 1904 bis 1907 betrieb Klaatsch ethnografisch-kulturwissenschaftliche Forschung in Australien und legte umfangreiche Sammlungen an. Die Auswertung vor allem seiner produktivsten Zeit 1905/1906 in Nordwestaustralien bietet neue ideengeschichtliche Ansätze zur Verbreitung und zum Einfluss deutscher Wissenschaftstradition, Verstehenskultur und Forschungsethik. Das Buch leistet damit einen aktuellen Beitrag zur Provenienz-, Repatriierungs- und Kulturerbeforschung in einer globalisierten Welt.

Dr. Carsten Wergin ist Ethnologe und Nachwuchsgruppenleiter im Forschungsbereich Transkulturelle Studien der Universität Heidelberg (Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes). Sein Forschungsinteresse liegt an den Schnittstellen von Kultur, Ökologie und Wirtschaftspolitik, mit regionalen Schwerpunkten in Australien, dem Indischen Ozean sowie Inseln und Küstenregionen der Europäischen Ultraperipherie. Er ist stellvertretender Vorsitzender der Gesellschaft für Australienstudien (GASt) und Gründungsmitglied der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Umweltethnologie der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie (DGSKA).

Dr. Corinna Erckenbrecht ist Ethnologin und Museumswissenschaftlerin mit langjähriger Erfahrung in der Forschungsarbeit mit Sammlungen aus Australien und Ozeanien im In- und Ausland. 2004 bis 2007 führte sie ein Forschungsprojekt über Hermann Klaatsch am Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum – Kulturen der Welt in Köln durch, das von der Fritz Thyssen-Stiftung für Wissenschaftsförderung finanziert wurde. Zuletzt arbeitete sie an der Universität Heidelberg in der Nachwuchsforschergruppe „Das transkulturelle Erbe Nordwestaustraliens: Dynamiken und Resistenzen“ in dem Projekt „Vom homo heidelbergensis zum dugong dance: Indigenes Kulturerbe Nordwestaustraliens im Spiegel deutscher Wissenschaftstradition“.

Inhaltsverzeichnis
PDF
Titelei
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Carsten Wergin, Corinna Erckenbrecht
Vorwort
Carsten Wergin
Orte radikaler Hoffnung
Zum Umgang mit dem Nachlass evolutionstheoretisch motivierter Forschungspraxis
Corinna Erckenbrecht
Hermann Klaatschs Australienreise 1904–1907 und seine Zeit in Nordwestaustralien
Die Ausstellung
Corinna Erckenbrecht, Carsten Wergin
Hermann Klaatsch and His Collection of Human Remains from (North)West Australia
Index